Schlauchboot bei der Proteststaffel der Seebrücke in Göttingen im Mai 2019, © Katharina Brunner 2019

The Inflatable Boat

This inflatable was intercepted by the “Libyan Coast Guard”. It documents one of countless failed escape attempts over the Mediterranean Sea. As part of the Seebrücke protest relay, it is now travelling through Germany, promoting safe migration routes, the decriminalisation of sea rescue and a humanitarian reception of those who are on the fleeing.

Tags

Safe Escape Routes Instead of Inflatable Boats

11 May 2019: A large, dark grey, almost black rubber dinghy on the “Bahnhofsplatz”, the railway station square in Göttingen, which can accommodate approx. 80-100 people. Rain is pouring down and people are busy constantly scooping water from the boat. To us, this situation somehow seems symptomatic for the history of the boat: People tried to flee from Libya across the Mediterranean to Europe in this very boat. It consists for the most part of a grey, hard plastic material and its stern ends with a black and white painted wooden plank. It is not new, scuffs, patches and signs of wear indicate the difficult conditions it has been exposed to in the Mediterranean. Laminated paper slips documenting failed escape stories and thus the deaths of migrants are hanging from its sides. On either side of the inflatable are signs saying: "Enter the boat at your own risk".

While these signs prevent the people of Göttingen from boarding the boat, the desperation and/or hope of the people who dare to attempt the crossing with such boats is greater than their fear of the many unknowns and dangers of the Mediterranean. The boat was salvaged in 2017 by the sea rescue NGO Sea-Eye. Previously, about 120 desperate people had tried to flee from Libya across the Mediterranean in this inflatable boat. The escape failed: they were picked up by the "Libyan Coast Guard" and brought back to Libya. What happened to them afterwards - whether they survived, attempted to escape again or were detained in camps - is uncertain.

Now the boat travels through Germany as part of the protest relay of the international civil society movement Seebrücke and promotes safe migration routes, the decriminalisation of sea rescue and a humanitarian reception of people who are on the run.

Here on the station square in Göttingen, the boat is irritating: It doesn't really fit into the small-town idyll of Göttingen and besides, it’s on dry land. It belongs on the water – it is useless on land; it cannot transport anyone from one place to another. Nevertheless, it is a "moving object", as Svašek calls it.1 It not only changes and moves literally, but it is also a moving object in the sense that it triggers emotions:

It has moved people across the Mediterranean during their desperate attempts to flee from the situation in their home countries and the inhuman situation in Libya, and now it has moved on and changed. It got a new meaning and a different use: Within the protest relay through Germany, the civil society organisation Seebrücke hopes to move as many people as possible in the second sense of the word, emotionally, with the inflatable boat. The members of Seebrücke want to set an example for its mission: The transformation of as many cities and districts as possible into "safe harbours", which declare their solidarity with the refugees, actively support sea rescue and declare their willingness to accept people beyond the distribution quota in the city or district. 2

And the irritation seems to succeed in large parts, despite the bad weather. Passers-by inside the station square stop in front of the boat, some seem to be affected and exchange views on the issue. The flyers and information offered by the organisers are also accepted in almost all cases and at least read briefly. Even those who rush past the boat and only glimpse at it seem to find it difficult to escape the subject, due to the size and presence of the inflatable. They, too, cannot help but take a look at boat.

This boat probably succeeds particularly well in moving people emotionally because it is an actual boat people had used in an attempt to flee, and therefore the "language" it speaks is notably authentic. It is not just any inflatable boat, because each of its signs of use and wear and tear tells stories of the violence of the sea, but also of the courage and despair of the people who engage in this endeavour. It also reminds us of the dramatic effects that the European Union's isolationist policy has on people, and thus of the responsibility that we all bear as citizens of Europe.

Serena Müller, Katharina Brunner

[1] Svašek, M., Ed. (2012). Moving Subjects, Moving Objects. Transnationalism, Cultural Production and Emotions. New York & Oxford, Berghan.

[2] Requrements of the civil society movement Seebrücke for cities which join the the alliance “Cities of Safe Harbours” (German): https://seebruecke.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Forderungen-Sicherer-Hafen.pdf

The Seebrücke protest relay van © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
The Seebrücke protest relay van © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inflating the boat © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inflating the boat © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inflating the boat © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inflating the boat © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Documentation of failed escape attempts on the side of the inflatable © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Documentation of failed escape attempts on the side of the inflatable © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Documentation of failed escape attempts on the side of the inflatable © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Documentation of failed escape attempts on the side of the inflatable © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Patches mending the side of the inflatable © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Patches mending the side of the inflatable © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Flyer with background information regarding the history of the boat © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Flyer with background information regarding the history of the boat © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
The wooden stern of the boat with documentation of failed escape attempts © Katharina Brunner 2019
The wooden stern of the boat with documentation of failed escape attempts © Katharina Brunner 2019
Staging of the boat at the protest campaign  © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Staging of the boat at the protest campaign © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Full view of the protest campaign  © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Full view of the protest campaign © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Staging of the boat at the protest campaign  © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Staging of the boat at the protest campaign © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Sideview of the boat with documentation of failed escape attempts © Katharina Brunner 2019
Sideview of the boat with documentation of failed escape attempts © Katharina Brunner 2019
Seebrücke banner for Göttingen as a
Seebrücke banner for Göttingen as a "safe harbour" © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Proteststaffel Seebrücke

Schlauchboot bei der Proteststaffel der Seebrücke in Göttingen im Mai 2019, © Katharina Brunner 2019

Das Schlauchboot

Dieses Schlauchboot wurde von der „libyschen Küstenwache“ abgefangen. Es dokumentiert einen von unzähligen gescheiterten Fluchtversuchen über das Mittelmeer. Im Rahmen der Proteststaffel der Seebrücke wandert es nun durch Deutschland und wirbt für sichere Fluchtwege, Entkriminalisierung der Seenotrettung und eine humanitäre Aufnahme der Menschen, die auf der Flucht sind.

Tags

Sichere Fluchtwege statt Schlauchboote

11. Mai 2019: Ein großes, dunkelgraues, fast schwarzes Schlauchboot auf dem Bahnhofsplatz in Göttingen, das ca. 80-100 Personen aufnehmen kann. Es regnet in Strömen und permanent sind Menschen damit beschäftigt, Wasser aus dem Boot zu schöpfen. Irgendwie wirkt diese Situation auf uns symptomatisch für die Geschichte des Bootes: Menschen versuchten in diesem Boot von Libyen übers Mittelmeer nach Europa zu fliehen. Das Boot besteht zum größten Teil aus einem grauen, harten Kunststoffmaterial und sein Heck schließt mit einer schwarz-weiß bemalten Holzplanke ab. Es ist nicht neu, Schrammen, Flicken und Abnutzungsspuren deuten auf die schwierigen Bedingungen hin, denen es auf dem Mittelmeer ausgesetzt war. An den Seiten des Schlauchbootes hängen laminierte Papierzettel, die gescheiterte Fluchtgeschichten und damit den Tod von Migrant*innen dokumentieren. Seitlich am Schlauchboot sind Hinweise angebracht: „Betreten des Bootes auf eigene Gefahr“.

Während diese Schilder die Göttinger*innen davon abhalten, ins Boot zu steigen, sind die Verzweiflung und/oder die Hoffnung der Menschen, die mit solchen Booten die Überfahrt wagen, größer als ihre Angst vor den vielen Unwägbarkeiten und Gefahren des Mittelmeers. Das Boot wurde 2017 von der Seenotrettungs-NGO Sea-Eye geborgen. Zuvor hatten ungefähr 120 verzweifelte Menschen versucht, mit diesem Schlauchboot von Libyen aus über das Mittelmeer zu fliehen. Die Flucht scheiterte: sie wurden von der „libyschen Küstenwache“ aufgegriffen und wieder zurück nach Libyen gebracht. Was danach mit ihnen geschah – ob sie überlebt, noch einmal einen Fluchtversuch gewagt haben oder in Lagern festgesetzt wurden –, ist ungewiss.

Nun reist das Boot im Rahmen der Proteststaffel der internationalen zivilgesellschaftlichen Bewegung Seebrücke durch Deutschland und wirbt für sichere Fluchtwege, die Entkriminalisierung der Seenotrettung und eine humanitäre Aufnahme von Menschen, die auf der Flucht sind.

Hier auf dem Bahnhofsplatz in Göttingen irritiert das Boot: Es passt nicht so recht in die kleinstädtische Idylle Göttingens und liegt vor allem auf dem Trockenen. Es würde eigentlich aufs Wasser gehören – an Land ist es nutzlos, kann niemanden von einem Ort zum anderen transportieren. Trotzdem ist es ein „moving object“, wie Svašek es nennt.1 Es verändert(e) und bewegt(e) sich nicht nur wörtlich, sondern ist auch ein bewegendes Objekt, das Emotionen auslöst:

Zum einen hat es Menschen während ihrer verzweifelten Versuche, vor der Situation in ihren Heimatländern und der unmenschlichen Lage in Libyen zu fliehen, über das Mittelmeer bewegt, und nun bewegt es (sich) weiter und hat sich dabei gewandelt. Es bekam eine neue Bedeutung und einen anderen Nutzen: im Rahmen der Proteststaffel durch Deutschland hofft die zivilgesellschaftliche Organisation Seebrücke mit dem Schlauchboot, im zweiten Sinne des Wortes, möglichst viele Menschen emotional zu bewegen. Die Seebrücke möchte damit ein Zeichen setzen für ihre Mission: die Umwandlung von möglichst vielen Städten und Landkreisen in „Sichere Häfen“, die sich mit den Flüchtenden solidarisch erklären, die Seenotrettung aktiv unterstützen und sich bereit erklären, über die Verteilungsquote hinaus Menschen in der Stadt oder dem Landkreis aufzunehmen.2

Und die Irritation scheint trotz des schlechten Wetters in großen Teilen zu gelingen. Passant*innen auf dem Bahnhofsplatz bleiben vor dem Boot stehen, einige scheinen betroffen und tauschen sich aus. Auch die angebotenen Flyer und Informationen der Organisator*innen werden in fast allen Fällen angenommen und zumindest kurz durchgelesen. Und auch diejenigen, die an dem Boot vorbeihetzen und es lediglich mit flüchtigen Blicken mustern, scheinen sich dem Thema durch die Größe und Präsenz des Bootes nur schwer entziehen zu können. Denn auch sie kommen nicht umhin, einen Blick auf das Boot zu werfen.

Vermutlich gelingt es aber diesem Boot besonders gut, Menschen emotional zu bewegen, weil es sich um ein originäres Fluchtboot handelt und damit die „Sprache“, die es spricht, besonders authentisch ist. Es ist nicht ein x-beliebigen Schlauchboot, denn jede seiner Gebrauchsspuren und Abnutzungen erzählt von der Gewalt des Meeres, aber auch dem Mut und der Verzweiflung der Menschen, die sich auf dieses Wagnis einlassen. Damit erinnert es auch uns an die dramatischen Auswirkungen, die die Abschottungspolitik der Europäischen Union für die Menschen hat, und damit an die Verantwortung, die wir alle als Bürger*innen Europas tragen.

Serena Müller, Katharina Brunner

[1] Svašek, M., Ed. (2012). Moving Subjects, Moving Objects. Transnationalism, Cultural Production and Emotions. New York & Oxford, Berghan.

[2] Anforderungen der Seebrücke an Städte, die sich zum Sicheren Hafen erklären: https://seebruecke.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Forderungen-Sicherer-Hafen.pdf

Aktionsbus der Proteststaffel der Seebrücke © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Aktionsbus der Proteststaffel der Seebrücke © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Aufbau des Schlauchbootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Aufbau des Schlauchbootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Aufbau des Schlauchbootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Aufbau des Schlauchbootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche an der Seitenwand des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche an der Seitenwand des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche an der Seitenwand des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche an der Seitenwand des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Flicken auf der Seitenwand des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Flicken auf der Seitenwand des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Flyer mit Hintergrundinformationen zur Geschichte des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Flyer mit Hintergrundinformationen zur Geschichte des Bootes © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Hölzernes Heck des Bootes mit Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche © Katharina Brunner 2019
Hölzernes Heck des Bootes mit Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche © Katharina Brunner 2019
Inszenierung des Schlauchboots bei der Protestaktion © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inszenierung des Schlauchboots bei der Protestaktion © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Gesamtansicht der Protestaktion © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Gesamtansicht der Protestaktion © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inszenierung des Schlauchboots bei der Protestaktion © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Inszenierung des Schlauchboots bei der Protestaktion © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Seitenansicht des Bootes mit Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche © Katharina Brunner 2019
Seitenansicht des Bootes mit Dokumentation gescheiterter Fluchtversuche © Katharina Brunner 2019
Transparent der Seebrücke für einen
Transparent der Seebrücke für einen "Sicheren Hafen" Göttingen © Seebrücke Göttingen 2019
Proteststaffel Seebrücke