Dilîşans Kamera (eine Nikon D90), Foto Hoşeng Hesen 2017

Dilîşan's Camera

This camera (a Nikon D90) belonged to the Kurdish-Syrian journalist Dilîşan Îbiş, who was killed by a car bomb planted by ISIL in Deir ez-Zor in 2017. In a guest article, her friend and colleague, Hoşeng Hesen, describes her life and the challenges faced by journalists in north-eastern Syria.

Tags

Preface

This article is an external contribution to this website, submitted by Hoşeng Hesen, a Kurdish-Syrian journalist from Qamişlo. A picture of Dilîşan Îbiş’ destroyed camera which was posted on Twitter spurred the interest of the project team.

Hoşeng Hesen describes the emotions and experiences he associates with the camera: The violence of the Syrian civil war, the very personal experiences of loss through the death of a colleague and close friend, and the dangers, challenges and everyday difficulties of journalistic work in Syria. However, the contribution is simultaneously an expression of hope and of a great willingness to do everything in one's power for a future peaceful, self-determined life in a democratic and pluralistic society[i]. Last but not least, this contribution wants to give the dead and their belongings the place they deserve.

Hoşeng Hesen's contribution reflects the perspective of a personally and politically involved insider. This led to some discussions within the project team, as the text differs in character from the fundamental ethnographic orientation of the website. One of the controversial issues discussed was whether an object which, at first glance, has nothing to do with the materiality of flight and migration should be placed on this website. It was also debated whether the pathos-laden style and intention of the text move the focus away from the object and rather serve as a kind of martyr's memorial for Dilîşan Îbiş.

Hesen's contribution was nevertheless received as a valuable contribution to this project, as a current voice from the diverse mosaic of voices in the war-torn country.

Sadly, the concerns Hoşeng Hesen voiced in his article regarding a Turkish invasion of north-eastern Syria came true in October 2019. The Turkish army and allied Islamist militias conquered parts of Rojava in the course of an alleged counter-terrorism campaign. According to Amnesty International, 300.000 people were displaced and more than 200 civilians were killed by attacks. There have also been numerous executions of unarmed citizens, like the one of Kurdish politician Hevrin Khalaf. Moreover, civilians have been abducted and tortured by invading forces.[ii]

These dire developments threaten the only project of democratic self-administration in Syria. And in the wake of this offensive, the so-called- Islamic State has already regrouped again.

Friedemann Yi-Neumann

The life and death of the Syrian journalist Dilîşan Îbiş

The night was dark, Dilîşan wanted to brighten it up with a child’s laugh but did not know that the power of darkness would put an end to her life.

Dilîşan Îbis was born in 1991 in the city of Kobanê. The name Kobanê is directly connected with the memory of failure and victory over the so-called Islamic state. Every person loves their country, but if there is oppression in one’s homeland this love grows immeasurably. When the revolution started in Rojava (Western Kurdistan/Northern Syria), she returned to her city, even though she was studying economic management in Aleppo at that time. After waiting for years, the time had come for her to realize her dream of working as a journalist.

Together with a few friends, Dilîşan founded Radio Dengê Kobanê (The voice of Kobanê). But during an ISIL-issued attack on Kobanê, the radio building was destroyed in an explosion and Dilîşan had to leave the city. After the city’s liberation, Dilîşan and her friend built a new radio station on the ruins of the old building with the help of donations. Her voice was once again heard in Kobanê.

Afterwards, Dilîşan started working for the Hawar News Agency (ANHA). There, she wrote and published news articles in Kurdish, her mother tongue. When the forces of the QSD (Syrian Democratic Forces) started their last operation against ISIL in Deir ez-Zor, Dilîşan went there with two of her colleagues from the Hawar Agency.

On the night of October 12, 2017, many civilians fled areas claimed by ISIL and finally reached the QSD positions. Dilîşan wanted to document this with her camera and approached people to capture and express their joy about the liberation from ISIL through photography. But half an hour after they arrived there, ISIL attacked the civilians, among them Dilîşan, her friends and many children, with a car bomb. The night and the car were the last things that Dilîşan saw. She, her two colleagues and dozens of civilians died in the attack. All that was left was a burned camera containing photos of children.

Since we were work colleagues, I posted the photo of the camera on my Twitter account and every time I look at it, I remember Dilîşan and gain new strength and motivation to continue my work.

A decade-long dream… has finally come true

Because the Syrian regime had all press platforms under its control, Kurds had no right to their own platform. This was only granted to them through the revolution. With this foundation, the dream the Kurds had cherished for years became true. April 22nd was set as a press day, as it commemorates the first Kurdish newspaper (which was called Kurdistan) published in Cairo on April 22nd, 1898.

At the start of a new project there are always thousands of difficulties and obstacles, but it is at least twice as difficult when there is war at home. I am currently working at Ronahî TV, the first Kurdish television station in Rojava. We order all our equipment from abroad, and if it is larger equipment, it gets stuck at the border for years, because the neighboring countries (Turkey, and the Kurdistan Autonomous Region in northern Iraq) do not let the equipment through to Rojava.

We are still missing many things. For example, it’s been five years since I started to cover the fight against ISIL journalistically, but I haven’t yet received any self-defense strategies or first-aid courses, and most of the journalists who work here don’t have such things either. [iii]

There is one day in 2015 that I will never forget. It was the day of the QDS operation against ISIL in the city of Al-Haul. We had gotten lost three times that day, were only a few meters away from ISIL fighters, and almost landed on Caliphate territory. We knew that they would behead us if we were caught, like so many others before. But luckily, some civilians had given us directions we found the right way. Journalists in war zones are often driven back and forth on a military vehicle. But you can never be certain that a grenade won’t find its target and explode, leaving you to find a similar end as Dilîşan.

For me, Dilîşan and hundreds of others who work as journalists in Rojava, there are many reasons why we do this. But in general, there are two motives that are particularly important:

First and foremost, our long-cherished dream is coming true here and now: we are able and allowed to express ourselves in Kurdish on a press platform. We have not forgotten the cruelty and violence perpetrated by the Syrian regime against us and our language. In the past, speaking Kurdish was grounds enough for a long prison sentence.

Secondly, it was the first time that our country was liberated. To experience our homeland in this way is an indescribable joy for very many Kurds. We want to show this beauty to the whole world!

Of course, the development of our work and our country is far from complete. The voices of weapons and war are still being heard. For the sake of my work I hope that the war will end soon, and that I will get a chance to develop myself into the media sector. Although I have already learned much and was honored as the best journalist in Rojava this year, I believe that I need to work on myself even more.

In general, I am optimistic for Rojava and hope, that our Situation will improve continuously. But the attacks of the Turkish state in particular continue to pose a threat to me and the people in the region. For example, they have announced that they will occupy our territories, just as they have done with the Canton and the City of Afrin.

I would like to see a museum for Dilîşans camera and for many other objects of journalistic equipment destroyed in the war, so that they and the people and stories connected with them are never forgotten.

Finally, I would like to thank this project for the appreciation of Rojava and my work.

It is my wish that everyone can participate in this living project.

Hoşeng Hesen (translation from the Kurdish to Germany by Sîlva Oso)

[i] Various Kurdish, Arab, Turkmen, Circassian, Aramaic, and Syriac groups live together in Rojava. This is also reflected in the political-administrative structures of the Democratic Federation of Northern Syria (DFNS). Rojava’s social contract, (see http://civaka-azad.org/der-gesellschaftsvertrag-der-demokratischen-foederation-von-nordsyrien/) declares equal rights for women, freedom of religion and the abolition of the death penalty.

[ii] See report by Amnesty International https://www.amnesty.org/en/latest/news/2019/10/syria-damning-evidence-of-war-crimes-and-other-violations-by-turkish-forces-and-their-allies/ [10.01.2020]

[iii] According to the NGO Reporters Without Borders, Syria ranks 174th out of 180 in the freedom of press rankings, making it one of the most dangerous countries for journalists. The Assad regime and armed Islamist groups systematically persecute, threaten and kill media workers (https://rsf.org/en/syria [12.28.2019]).

The journalist Dilîşan Îbiş 2017// Rojnamevan Dilîşan Îbiş 2017
The journalist Dilîşan Îbiş 2017// Rojnamevan Dilîşan Îbiş 2017
The destroyed camera and picture in memory of Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019// Bi bîranîna Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019, kamerayek û wênekêş hatin rûxandin
The destroyed camera and picture in memory of Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019// Bi bîranîna Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019, kamerayek û wênekêş hatin rûxandin
Hoşeng Hesen is a Journalist from Qamişlo in the democratic confederalist autonomous areas of northern Syria (Rojava). In 2019 the Free Media Union awarded him the title of best TV Journalist in Northern Syria.// Hoşeng Hesen rojnamevanek ji Qamişlo ye.
Hoşeng Hesen is a Journalist from Qamişlo in the democratic confederalist autonomous areas of northern Syria (Rojava). In 2019 the Free Media Union awarded him the title of best TV Journalist in Northern Syria.// Hoşeng Hesen rojnamevanek ji Qamişlo ye.

Jiyan û mirin, xebata rojnamevanan li Sûriyê

Şev Tarîbû … Dilîşan xwest bi kenê zarokan wê ronî bike lê nezanîbû ew hêza tarî wê dawî li jiyanê wê bîne.

Dilîşan Îbîş di sala 1991 li bajarê Kobanê çavê xwe li dunyayê vekir, ji xwe dema navê Kobanê tê gotin têkçûn û şikestina DAIŞ`ê tê bîra mirov.

Bi mezinbûnê re hezkirinê welat dagirkirî di dilê wê de mezin bû, ji xwe her kes ji welatê xwe hez dike lê dema welatê te dagirkirî û bindest be hezkirina wî di dilê te de zêdetir dibe.

Tevî ku Dilîşan li Bajarê Heleb`ê Kolêca rêveberiya Karan dixwend lê bi destpêkirina şoreşê li herêmên Rojavayê Kurdistanê berê xwe da bajarê xwe ji ber dema pêkanîna xewna wê ya salan êdî hatibû ew jî xebata di nava çapemniyê de.

Dilşan tevî çend hevalên xwe radyoya Dengê Kobanê ava kirin û ew yek ji damezrînerên wê radyoyê bû.

Bi êrîşa DAIŞ`ê ya bi ser Kobanê ve radyoya wan hat teqandin û Dilîşan neçarî derketina ji bajêr bû.

Piştî rizgarkirna bajêr ji ser wan alavên belavbûyî yên radyoyê Dilîşan û hevalên xwe carek din radyoya xwe ava kirin ew jî di riya alîkariya ji xêrxwazan û dengê dilîşan carek din li Kobanê belav bû.

Piştî demekê Dilîşan dest bi xebatê di nava Ajansa Hawarê de kir û êdî li wir bi zimanê xwe yê Kurdî nûçe dinvîsandin.

Di dema ku hêzên QSD`ê li Dêra Zorê dest bi oprasyona xwe ya dawî kirin Dilîşan tevî 2 hevalên xwe yên heman ajansê berê xwe dan wir

Di şevekê dema hejmarek mezin ji sivîlan ji herêmên DAIŞ`ê reviyan û xwe gihandin cihên QSD`ê, Dilîşan rahişt kamîra xwe û berê xwe da wir da ku kêfxweşiya wê xelkê ya xelasiya ji DAIŞ`ê bikşîne.

Lê piştî nîv se`etê ji gihana wir erbeyek bombebarkirî ji herêmên DAIŞ`ê xwe di nava wan sivîlan û Dilîşan`ê de teqand.

Ew şev û ew erebe tiştên dawî yên ku Dilîşan dîtin, ew û 2 hevalên xwe yên rojnamevan û bi dehan sivîlan jiyana xwe ji dest dan.

Tişta li paş Dilîşan ma ew kamîreya şewitî bû ku têde wêneyên zarokan hebûn.

Ji ber em hevalên hev yên kar bûn min wêneya kamîreya wê danî ser hesabê xwe twitterê û her dibînim Dilîşan tê bîra min û hêza min ya kar zêde dibe.

Xewna salan .. Êdî Rastî ye

ji ber sîstema desthilat li Sûrî raghandin hemû xistibû bin dest xwe de, ji Kurdan re maf tune bû ku dezeghên wan ên çapmeniyê hebin.

Lewra bi şoreşê re derfeta vekirina saziyên çepmeniyê çêbû û xewna bi salan êdî bû rastî ku yekemîn rojnameya Kurdî di 22`ê nîsana 1899`an de derket lewra ew roj wekî roja rojnamgeriya Kurdî tê naskirin.

Bi dest pê kirina xebatek nû bi hezaran zehmetî û astengî li pêşiya wê derdikevin nexasim ku li welatekî hîn şer têde heye.

Ji mijara peydakirna alavên teknîkî bigre heta zanebûn û hînbûna karê raghandinê bi dehan zehmetî li pêşiya xebata raghanidnê li Rojava hene.

Nimûne ez niha li telefizyona Ronahî TV ku ew yekem telfizyona Kurdî li ser xaka Rojava weşana xwe dike, kar dikim. hemû alavên xwe em ji derve dixwazin û dema hindek alavên mezin bin bi salan li ser sînor dimînn ji ber ew welat (Tirkî û carnan herêma başûrê Kurdistanê) nahêlin ew derbasî Rojava.

Lê dîsa jî gelek tişt kêm in jî ev 5 sal in ez şerê li dijî DAIŞ`ê dişopînim lê heta niha rextê parastinê yê rojnamevanan li cem min tune ye û perwerdeyên destwerdana lezgîn a tenderustiyê min nedîtiye û piraniya rojnamevanên li vir wisa ne.

Di sala 2015an de rojek ku ez tucarî ji bîr nakim heye, ew jî dema min oprasyona QSD`ê li dijî DAIŞ`ê li bajarokê Holê dişopand di heman rojê de me 3 caran riya xwe şaş kir. ku di navbera me û DAIŞ`ê de tenê çend mitir diman, û gelek kêm mabû ku em derbasî dewleta Xîlafetê bibin û min dizaîbû ku wê sere min were jêkirin wekî yê gelekan lê hindek sivîlên li wire m hişyar kirin.

Ji xwe li herêmên şer tu bi makîneyên raghandina leşkerî digere û tu nizane kîjan deqê mayinek li ber te biteqe û çarenûsa te jî wekî ya Dilîşan be.

Ji bo min, Dilîşan û bi sedan kesên ku niha karê rojnamevaniyê li Rojava dikin gelek sedem hene lê wekî 2 yên bingehîn/esasî dikarim binav bikim

Xewna me ya bi salan ku em bi zimanê xwe di dezgehek çapmeniyê de biaxvin îro li vir dibe rastî, me zilm û zordaiya li hember zimanê xwe ji aliyê rêjîmên serdest ji bîr nekirye ji ber li vir axaftina bi kurdî dibû sedema ku demek dirêj tu di zindanê de bimîne

Cara yekê ye ku welatê me azad dibe û bi rengê wê yê xweş em wî dibînin lewra dîtina wî di vî halî de kêfxweşiyek ku nayê wesif kirin di dilê her kurdekî de şîn dike em jî dixwazin wê xweşiyê pêş tevahiya dunyayê bikin.

Bêguman hîn riya pêşxistina karê min û welatê me ku dengê çekan û şer hîn lê tê bihîstin gelek dirêj e, ji bo karê min ez bi hêvî me ku şer li vir bidawî bibe da ku derfetek were dîtin ku ez di aliyê raghandinê de xwe hîn bêhtir pêş bixim tevî ku astek baş çêbûye û îsal ez wekî baştrîn rojnamevan li vir hatim xelat kirin lê bawerim hîn pêwîst e.

Ji bo Rojava bi giştî jî ez geşbînim ku ev rewşa me ya heyî wisa dewam bike û ber b baş bûne ve here lê metirsî li cem min û gelê herêmê heye taybet ku dewleta Tirk gefan li dijî herêma me dixwe û dibêje ew ê êrîş bike û wekî ku çawa Efrîn dagir kir vir jî dagir bike.

Ez dixwazim ku mûzeyek ji bo kamîra Dilîşan û gelek amûrên din yên raghanidnê di nav şer de xerab bûn li wan werin hiştin.

Da dawiyê de jî ez spasiya we dikim li ser vê girîngdayîna Rojava û karê min, xwestek ew e ku her kes li vê proja nûjen xwedî derkeve .

Hoşeng Hesen

Xirafî-Straße zwischen Al-Hasaka und Deir ez-Zor (Syrien)

Dilîşans Kamera (eine Nikon D90), Foto Hoşeng Hesen 2017

Dilîşans Kamera

Diese Kamera (eine Nikon D90) gehörte der kurdisch-syrischen Journalistin Dilîşan Îbiş, die 2017 in Deir ez-Zor durch eine Autobombe des IS getötet wurde. In einem Gastbeitrag beschreibt ihr Freund und Kollege, Hoşeng Hesen, ihr Leben und die Herausforderungen von Journalist*innen im Nordosten Syriens.

Tags

Vorwort

Bei diesem Artikel handelt es sich um einen externen Beitrag zu dieser Website, die von Hoşeng Hesen, einem kurdisch-syrischen Journalisten aus Qamişlo, eingereicht wurde. Gepostet bei Twitter weckte das Bild der zerstörten Kamera von Dilîşan Îbiş das Interesse des Projektteams.

Hoşeng Hesen beschreibt hier die Emotionen und Erfahrungen, die er mit der Kamera verbindet: die Gewalt des syrischen Bürgerkrieges, die ganz persönlichen Verlusterfahrungen durch den Tod einer Kollegin und engen Freundin, sowie die Gefahren, Herausforderungen und alltäglichen Schwierigkeiten journalistischer Arbeit in Syrien. Gleichzeitig ist der Beitrag jedoch auch ein Ausdruck von Hoffnungen und großer Bereitschaft, sich mit aller Kraft dafür einzusetzen, in Zukunft in Frieden selbstbestimmt in einer demokratischen und pluralen Gesellschaft[i] leben zu können. Nicht zuletzt möchte dieser Beitrag den Toten und ihren Dingen den ihnen gebührenden Platz einräumen.

Hoşeng Hesens Beitrag spiegelt die Perspektive eines persönlich und politisch involvierten Insiders wieder. Dies führte zu einigen Diskussionen innerhalb des Projektteams, denn der Text unterscheidet sich von seinem Charakter her von der grundlegend ethnografischen Ausrichtung der Website. Kontrovers diskutiert wurde u. a. die Frage, ob ein Objekt, das auf den ersten Blick nichts mit Materialität von Flucht und Migration zu tun hat, auf dieser Website platziert werden soll. Ferner wurde darüber disputiert, ob der von Pathos getragene Stil und die Intention des Textes, weniger das Objekt ins Zentrum stellt, sondern vielmehr als eine Art Märtyrergedenken für Dilîşan Îbiş verfasst wurde.

Hesens Beitrag wurde dennoch als ein wertvoller Beitrag zu diesem Projekt, als eine aktuelle Stimme aus dem vielfältigen Stimmenmosaik des kriegsgeplagten Landes aufgenommen.

Friedemann Yi-Neumann

Über das Leben und Sterben der syrischen Journalistin Dilîşan Îbiş

Die Nacht war dunkel, Dilîşan wollte sie mit einem Kinderlachen erhellen, wusste aber nicht, dass die Macht der Dunkelheit ihrem Leben ein Ende setzen würde.

Dilîşan Îbiş wurde 1991 in der Stadt Kobanê geboren. Der Name Kobanê ist unmittelbar mit der Erinnerung an das Scheitern und den Sieg über den sogenannten Islamischen Staat verbunden. An sich liebt jede Person ihr Land, doch besteht in der Heimat Unterdrückung, wächst diese Liebe ins Unermessliche. Als die Revolution in Rojava (Westkurdistan/Nordsyrien) begann, kehrte sie zurück in ihre Stadt, obwohl sie zu dieser Zeit Wirtschaftsmanagement in Aleppo studierte. Denn die Zeit, auf die sie jahrelang gewartet hatte, war gekommen: sie wollte ihren Traum, als Journalistin zu arbeiten, verwirklichen.

Mit ein paar Freund*innen gründete Dilîşan das Radio Dengê Kobanê (Die Stimme von Kobanê). Bei einem Angriff des IS auf Kobanê wurde jedoch das Radiogebäude bei einer Explosion zerstört und Dilîşan musste die Stadt verlassen. Nach der Befreiung der Stadt bauten Dilîşan und ihre Freund*innen, mithilfe von Spenden, auf den Trümmern des alten Gebäudes eine neue Sendestation auf. Ihre Stimme war wieder in Kobanê hörbar.

Danach begann Dilîşan in der Nachrichtenagentur Hawar News Agency (ANHA) zu arbeiten. Dort schrieb und veröffentlichte sie Nachrichten auf Kurdisch, ihrer Muttersprache. Als die Streitkräfte der QSD (Demokratischen Kräfte Syriens) ihre letzte Operation gegen den IS in Deir ez-Zor begannen, machte Dilîşan sich mit zwei ihrer Kolleg*innen der Hawar-Agentur dorthin auf.

In der Nacht des 12. Oktober 2017 flohen viele Zivilist*innen aus IS-Gebieten und erreichten schließlich die QSD-Stellungen. Dilîşan wollte dies mit ihrer Kamera dokumentieren und ging auf die Leute zu, um deren Freude über die Befreiung vom IS aufzunehmen und dieser dadurch Ausdruck zu verleihen. Aber eine halbe Stunde nachdem sie dort angekommen waren, griff der IS die Zivilst*innen, unter ihnen neben Dilîşan und ihren Freund*innen auch viele Kinder, mit einer Autobombe an. Die Nacht und das Auto waren die letzten Dinge, die Dilîşan sah. Sie, ihre zwei Kolleg*innen sowie dutzende Zivilist*innen starben bei diesem Angriff. Alles was übrig blieb, war eine verbrannte Kamera, die Kinderfotos enthielt.

Da wir Arbeitskolleg*innen waren, habe ich das Foto der Kamera auf meinem Twitter-Account gepostet und jedes Mal, wenn ich sie mir anschaue, erinnere ich mich an Dilîşan und bekomme dadurch wieder neue Kraft und Motivation, um meine Arbeit weiter zu machen.

Ein jahrzehntelanger Traum... ist endlich wahr geworden

Da das syrische Regime alle Presseplattformen unter seiner Kontrolle hatte, hatten Kurd*innen kein Recht auf eine eigene Plattform. Dieses wurde ihnen erst mit der Revolution zugestanden. Mit dieser Gründung wurde der Traum, den die Kurd*innen seit Jahren gehegt hatten, wahr. Der 22. April wurde als Pressetag festgelegt, da dieser an die erste kurdische Zeitung (die den Titel Kurdistan trug) erinnert, die am 22. April 1898 in Kairo veröffentlicht wurde.

Am Anfang einer neuen Projektes stehen immer Tausende von Schwierigkeiten und Hindernisse, aber es ist mindestens doppelt so schwierig, wenn im eigenen Land Krieg herrscht. Ich arbeite zurzeit bei Ronahî TV, dem ersten kurdischen Fernsehsender in Rojava. Wir bestellen all unser Equipment aus dem Ausland, und wenn es größere Geräte sind, bleiben sie jahrelang an den Grenzen stecken, weil die benachbarten Länder (Türkei und die Autonome Region Kurdistan im Nordirak) die Geräte nach Rojava nicht durchlassen.

Uns fehlen noch viele Dinge. Es ist zum Beispiel schon fünf Jahren her, dass ich begonnen habe, den Kampf gegen den IS journalistisch zu begleiten, aber ich habe bis jetzt noch keine Selbstverteidigungsstrategien oder Erste-Hilfe-Kurse erhalten und die meisten Journalisten, die hier arbeiten, haben so etwas auch nicht.[ii]

Es gibt einen Tag im Jahr 2015, den ich nie vergessen werde. Es war der Tag der QDS-Operation gegen den IS in der Stadt Al-Haul. Wir hatten uns an dem Tag bereits dreimal verlaufen, waren nur ein paar Meter von IS-Kämpfern entfernt und wären fast auf dem Gebiet des Kalifats gelandet. Wir wussten, dass sie uns - sollten sie uns erwischen – enthaupten würden, so wie viele andere zuvor! Aber zum Glück hatten uns ein paar Zivilist*innen Hinweise gegeben und wir fanden den richtigen Weg. Oftmals werden Journalist*innen in den Kriegsgebieten auch mit einem Militärfahrzeug hin- und hergefahren. Man kann aber nie sicher sein, dass keine Granate einschlägt und explodiert und man dann womöglich ein ähnliches Ende wie Dilîşan findet.

Für mich, Dilîşan und hunderte andere, die als Journalist*innen in Rojava arbeiten, gibt es viele Beweggründe, warum wir dies tun. Im Großen und Ganzen gibt es jedoch zwei Motive, die besonders ausschlaggebend sind:

Zu allererst wird unser lang gehegter Traum hier und heute wahr: Wir können und dürfen uns auf einer Presseplattform auf Kurdisch äußern. Nicht vergessen sind die Grausamkeit und die Gewalt, die durch das syrische Regime gegen uns und unsere Sprache ausgeübt wurde. Früher reichte es aus, auf Kurdisch zu sprechen, um zu langen Haftstrafen verurteilt zu werden.

Zweitens war es das erste Mal, dass unser Land befreit wurde. Unsere Heimat auf diese Weise zu erleben, ist für sehr viele Kurden eine unbeschreibliche Freude. Diese Schönheit wollen wir der ganzen Welt zeigen!

Natürlich sind die Entwicklungen unserer Arbeit und unseres Landes noch längst nicht abgeschlossen. Nach wie vor sind die Stimmen der Waffen und des Krieges zu hören. Für meine Arbeit hoffe ich, dass der Krieg bald zu Ende geht und ich dann eine Chance erhalte, mich im Medienbereich weiterzuentwickeln. Obwohl ich schon viel gelernt habe und ich dieses Jahr als bester Journalist in Rojava geehrt wurde, glaube ich, dass ich noch mehr an mir arbeiten muss.

Im Allgemeinen bin ich optimistisch für Rojava und hoffe, dass sich unsere Situation kontinuierlich weiter verbessert. Aber insbesondere die Angriffe des türkischen Staats stellen weiterhin eine Bedrohung für mich und die Menschen in der Region dar. So haben sie angekündigt, unsere Gebiete zu besetzen, genauso wie sie es mit dem Kanton und der Stadt Afrin getan haben.

Ich wünsche mir ein Museum für Dilîşans Kamera und für viele andere Gegenstände journalistischer Ausrüstung, die im Krieg zerstört wurden, damit sie und die damit verbundenen Personen und Geschichten niemals in Vergessenheit geraten.

Abschließend danke ich auch diesem Projekt für die Wertschätzung von Rojava und meiner Arbeit.

Mein Wunsch ist es, dass jede und jeder an diesem lebendigen Projekt teilnimmt.

Hoşeng Hesen (aus dem Kurdischen von Sîlva Oso)

[i] In Rojava leben verschiedene kurdische, arabische, turkmenische, tscherkessisch, aramäische und syriakische Gruppen zusammen. Dies spiegelt sich auch in den politischen Verwaltungsstrukturen der Demokratische Föderation Nordsyrien (DFNS) wider. Im Gesellschaftsvertrag Rojavas (siehe http://civaka-azad.org/der-gesellschaftsvertrag-der-demokratischen-foederation-von-nordsyrien/) sind die Gleichberechtigung von Frauen, Religionsfreiheit und die Abschaffung der Todesstrafe verankert.

[ii] Syrien belegt laut der NGO Reporter ohne Grenzen Platz 174 von 180 in der Rangliste der Pressefreiheit und zählt damit zu den gefährlichsten Ländern für Journalist*innen. Das Assadregime sowie bewaffnete islamistische Gruppen verfolgen, bedrohen und töten demnach Medienschaffende systematisch (siehe https://www.reporter-ohne-grenzen.de/syrien/ [29.07.2019]).

Die Journalistin Dilîşan Îbiş 2017// Rojnamevan Dilîşan Îbiş 2017
Die Journalistin Dilîşan Îbiş 2017// Rojnamevan Dilîşan Îbiş 2017
Zerstörte Kamera und Fotografie im Gedenken an Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019// Bi bîranîna Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019, kamerayek û wênekêş hatin rûxandin
Zerstörte Kamera und Fotografie im Gedenken an Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019// Bi bîranîna Dilîşan Îbiş, Hoşeng Hesen, 2019, kamerayek û wênekêş hatin rûxandin
Hoşeng Hesen ist ein Journalist aus Qamişlo in der Demokratische Föderation Nordsyrien (Rojava). 2019 wurde er von der Free Media Union als bester TV Journalist in Nordsyrien ausgezeichnet.// Hoşeng Hesen rojnamevanek ji Qamişlo ye.
Hoşeng Hesen ist ein Journalist aus Qamişlo in der Demokratische Föderation Nordsyrien (Rojava). 2019 wurde er von der Free Media Union als bester TV Journalist in Nordsyrien ausgezeichnet.// Hoşeng Hesen rojnamevanek ji Qamişlo ye.

Jiyan û mirin, xebata rojnamevanan li Sûriyê

Şev Tarîbû … Dilîşan xwest bi kenê zarokan wê ronî bike lê nezanîbû ew hêza tarî wê dawî li jiyanê wê bîne.

Dilîşan Îbîş di sala 1991 li bajarê Kobanê çavê xwe li dunyayê vekir, ji xwe dema navê Kobanê tê gotin têkçûn û şikestina DAIŞ`ê tê bîra mirov.

Bi mezinbûnê re hezkirinê welat dagirkirî di dilê wê de mezin bû, ji xwe her kes ji welatê xwe hez dike lê dema welatê te dagirkirî û bindest be hezkirina wî di dilê te de zêdetir dibe.

Tevî ku Dilîşan li Bajarê Heleb`ê Kolêca rêveberiya Karan dixwend lê bi destpêkirina şoreşê li herêmên Rojavayê Kurdistanê berê xwe da bajarê xwe ji ber dema pêkanîna xewna wê ya salan êdî hatibû ew jî xebata di nava çapemniyê de.

Dilşan tevî çend hevalên xwe radyoya Dengê Kobanê ava kirin û ew yek ji damezrînerên wê radyoyê bû.

Bi êrîşa DAIŞ`ê ya bi ser Kobanê ve radyoya wan hat teqandin û Dilîşan neçarî derketina ji bajêr bû.

Piştî rizgarkirna bajêr ji ser wan alavên belavbûyî yên radyoyê Dilîşan û hevalên xwe carek din radyoya xwe ava kirin ew jî di riya alîkariya ji xêrxwazan û dengê dilîşan carek din li Kobanê belav bû.

Piştî demekê Dilîşan dest bi xebatê di nava Ajansa Hawarê de kir û êdî li wir bi zimanê xwe yê Kurdî nûçe dinvîsandin.

Di dema ku hêzên QSD`ê li Dêra Zorê dest bi oprasyona xwe ya dawî kirin Dilîşan tevî 2 hevalên xwe yên heman ajansê berê xwe dan wir

Di şevekê dema hejmarek mezin ji sivîlan ji herêmên DAIŞ`ê reviyan û xwe gihandin cihên QSD`ê, Dilîşan rahişt kamîra xwe û berê xwe da wir da ku kêfxweşiya wê xelkê ya xelasiya ji DAIŞ`ê bikşîne.

Lê piştî nîv se`etê ji gihana wir erbeyek bombebarkirî ji herêmên DAIŞ`ê xwe di nava wan sivîlan û Dilîşan`ê de teqand.

Ew şev û ew erebe tiştên dawî yên ku Dilîşan dîtin, ew û 2 hevalên xwe yên rojnamevan û bi dehan sivîlan jiyana xwe ji dest dan.

Tişta li paş Dilîşan ma ew kamîreya şewitî bû ku têde wêneyên zarokan hebûn.

Ji ber em hevalên hev yên kar bûn min wêneya kamîreya wê danî ser hesabê xwe twitterê û her dibînim Dilîşan tê bîra min û hêza min ya kar zêde dibe.

Xewna salan .. Êdî Rastî ye

ji ber sîstema desthilat li Sûrî raghandin hemû xistibû bin dest xwe de, ji Kurdan re maf tune bû ku dezeghên wan ên çapmeniyê hebin.

Lewra bi şoreşê re derfeta vekirina saziyên çepmeniyê çêbû û xewna bi salan êdî bû rastî ku yekemîn rojnameya Kurdî di 22`ê nîsana 1899`an de derket lewra ew roj wekî roja rojnamgeriya Kurdî tê naskirin.

Bi dest pê kirina xebatek nû bi hezaran zehmetî û astengî li pêşiya wê derdikevin nexasim ku li welatekî hîn şer têde heye.

Ji mijara peydakirna alavên teknîkî bigre heta zanebûn û hînbûna karê raghandinê bi dehan zehmetî li pêşiya xebata raghanidnê li Rojava hene.

Nimûne ez niha li telefizyona Ronahî TV ku ew yekem telfizyona Kurdî li ser xaka Rojava weşana xwe dike, kar dikim. hemû alavên xwe em ji derve dixwazin û dema hindek alavên mezin bin bi salan li ser sînor dimînn ji ber ew welat (Tirkî û carnan herêma başûrê Kurdistanê) nahêlin ew derbasî Rojava.

Lê dîsa jî gelek tişt kêm in jî ev 5 sal in ez şerê li dijî DAIŞ`ê dişopînim lê heta niha rextê parastinê yê rojnamevanan li cem min tune ye û perwerdeyên destwerdana lezgîn a tenderustiyê min nedîtiye û piraniya rojnamevanên li vir wisa ne.

Di sala 2015an de rojek ku ez tucarî ji bîr nakim heye, ew jî dema min oprasyona QSD`ê li dijî DAIŞ`ê li bajarokê Holê dişopand di heman rojê de me 3 caran riya xwe şaş kir. ku di navbera me û DAIŞ`ê de tenê çend mitir diman, û gelek kêm mabû ku em derbasî dewleta Xîlafetê bibin û min dizaîbû ku wê sere min were jêkirin wekî yê gelekan lê hindek sivîlên li wire m hişyar kirin.

Ji xwe li herêmên şer tu bi makîneyên raghandina leşkerî digere û tu nizane kîjan deqê mayinek li ber te biteqe û çarenûsa te jî wekî ya Dilîşan be.

Ji bo min, Dilîşan û bi sedan kesên ku niha karê rojnamevaniyê li Rojava dikin gelek sedem hene lê wekî 2 yên bingehîn/esasî dikarim binav bikim

Xewna me ya bi salan ku em bi zimanê xwe di dezgehek çapmeniyê de biaxvin îro li vir dibe rastî, me zilm û zordaiya li hember zimanê xwe ji aliyê rêjîmên serdest ji bîr nekirye ji ber li vir axaftina bi kurdî dibû sedema ku demek dirêj tu di zindanê de bimîne

Cara yekê ye ku welatê me azad dibe û bi rengê wê yê xweş em wî dibînin lewra dîtina wî di vî halî de kêfxweşiyek ku nayê wesif kirin di dilê her kurdekî de şîn dike em jî dixwazin wê xweşiyê pêş tevahiya dunyayê bikin.

Bêguman hîn riya pêşxistina karê min û welatê me ku dengê çekan û şer hîn lê tê bihîstin gelek dirêj e, ji bo karê min ez bi hêvî me ku şer li vir bidawî bibe da ku derfetek were dîtin ku ez di aliyê raghandinê de xwe hîn bêhtir pêş bixim tevî ku astek baş çêbûye û îsal ez wekî baştrîn rojnamevan li vir hatim xelat kirin lê bawerim hîn pêwîst e.

Ji bo Rojava bi giştî jî ez geşbînim ku ev rewşa me ya heyî wisa dewam bike û ber b baş bûne ve here lê metirsî li cem min û gelê herêmê heye taybet ku dewleta Tirk gefan li dijî herêma me dixwe û dibêje ew ê êrîş bike û wekî ku çawa Efrîn dagir kir vir jî dagir bike.

Ez dixwazim ku mûzeyek ji bo kamîra Dilîşan û gelek amûrên din yên raghanidnê di nav şer de xerab bûn li wan werin hiştin.

Da dawiyê de jî ez spasiya we dikim li ser vê girîngdayîna Rojava û karê min, xwestek ew e ku her kes li vê proja nûjen xwedî derkeve .

Hoşeng Hesen

Xirafî-Straße zwischen Al-Hasaka und Deir ez-Zor (Syrien)